RSS Feed

Ciu Ciu and Ciu again

Posted on

IMG_3825

Straight off I really liked the Ciu Ciu ‘Le Merlettaie’ Pecorino 2014. I’d just got home with Ashley and as soon as I walked through the door was gagging for some wine.

This is chewable. It’s got depth and a density to it, quite viscous-like and fat but with a decent punch of acidity to go with lovely baked apple, pear, grapefruit peel and something floral.

It’s way too easy to drink. If it were a school night I’d be careful, but as I wrote this on Friday night, my wife was in with baby #2 (Astrid) trying to get her to sleep, even after I’d already done an hour of fruitless labour; as you can imagine it went down easily…

Scores on the doors:

Overall remarks: Arnie says ‘Get to the chopper!‘ = solid 3 points

Packaging: delightfully heavy and tapered bottle, with a lovely embossed image of a sort of medieval Italian piazza with some children holding what look like severed heads or helmets?? I’m sure there’s a perfectly good explanation as to what it is, but I’m stumped.

Eco-credentials: gets a bonus point because it is certified Organic and Vegan according to CCPB – the Italian non-food organic certifier.

Price: Some retailers like Buonvino do it for £12.95. I got mine from Highbury Vintners for essentially £10.90 (less 10% as a wine club member)

IMG_3827

 

 

About Sozzled

Advise businesses on being more socially and environmentally responsible. Love food, wine and sports. Currently developing my photography skills and learning golf.

Leave a Reply

