RSS Feed

Bin man

Posted on

I haven’t drunk wine for ages so there’s not much to say other than I liked this one very much!

Finally getting round to eating the stew I made a month or so ago, we decided to honour it with a decent bottle of red from Penfolds – a brand I have always shunned for some reason. I haven’t seen many Penfolds in my local deli – this one was brought back from Australia by one of my team after a visit to their winery, so it was a real treat to open something of quality.

Penfolds 2011 Bin 8 is big and youthful Cabernet-Shiraz blend. On the nose it was fruity and perfumed, with cardamon in the background. Heavy in the mouth, it was busting with sweet and sour red-berry fruit and a slightly peppery finish. The tannins and oak were very well integrated, but acid was quite high and so it needed food. There was a definite bite and a certain meatiness which I loved, complementing the tangy beef, aubergine and parmesan stew perfectly.


One for the bin? definitely not.

Selamat malam


About Sozzl'd

Advise businesses on being more socially and environmentally responsible. Love food, wine and sports. Currently developing my photography skills and learning golf.

One response »

  1. Old man now 64

    Bin there dun that



Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 645 other followers

